About the blog’s name

I tried the adjectives that describe me best. I tried my interests: too many, too varied. I tried my purpose with this blog: too unclear. And then I stumbled upon the word (and name) endeavour. A beautiful word, the way it’s written, the way it’s spoken. And its meaning speaks to me. To me, endeavour is about a serious attempt. A serious attempt to improve oneself. Or a serious attempt to achieve something. But it’s also a try out. It doesn’t have to succeed. It’s an attempt. Both serious and open-ended. And that’s what this blog is to me: a journey to discover what I most like to write about and how I want to express myself and I don’t know where the journey will take me. Which is not important, because it’s all about the journey, not the destination, isn’t it?

Secondly, I like detective series very much. And I enjoyed watching Morse and Endeavour. It’s a nice coincidence that endeavour is the first name of Morse.

Finally, I liked some of the quotes with the word endeavour. For now, this is my favourite: “I know of no more encouraging fact than the unquestionable ability of man to elevate his life by conscious endeavour.” – Henry David Thoreau. I haven’t looked at Henry Thoreau or whatever it was that this quote meant to him, but I like it. The quote signifies the importance of challenging oneself to be a better person, and the encouragement Thoreau apparently finds within the ability of mankind to do so. That is a positive view of people and I like that a lot!

3 thoughts on “About the blog’s name

Leave a Reply

