Delayed Contact

I have a younger brother, whom I love very much. He’s a great guy and turned out quite alright, but I wonder if he would have been my one of my best friends if I hadn’t known him my entire life.

You may wonder why I wrote “turned out quite alright”. Well, he was a horrible teenager. He didn’t study, skipped classes in high school, hung out with the wrong crowd, got into soft drugs and got himself arrested. A lot of years passed and by now he’s married with kids, has a great job and is happy with his life and the things he does. He’s found purpose and is a self-confident man.

When interacting with him, one still needs a manual though. He’s overly protective, which sometimes results in him being bossy. He cares a lot about his siblings and feels responsible for their welfare, but that feels a bit patronising now and again. I am quite capable of taking care of myself, thank you very much!

Over the years, our relationship has however developed into a valuable friendship. We can talk for hours while sharing our thoughts on life and discussing our family. I’ve learned to realise that his intentions are good and that he cares a lot. That’s why I am less hard on him and I understand his motivations better than when we were younger. If I had met him in a bar yesterday, I probably would have felt he was a condescending prick. But I know where this attitude comes from and that makes it alright (for me).

Daily Prompt: How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

Leave a Reply

