Big Day Ahead

Today’s Daily Prompt: It’s the night before an important event: a big exam, a major presentation, your wedding. How do you calm your nerves in preparation for the big day? 

I don’t. Probably because I don’t know how. When something big is coming up, I just prepare thoroughly: I pack my bag in the evening, lay out my clothes, prepare my breakfast and end up going to bed too late, but well prepared. There’s no special ritual of taking a relaxing bath or anything like that. I do plan to go to bed early after taking that bath, but because I’m so busy preparing all the other stuff there’s no time to take the bath.

Going to bed late doesn’t exactly help when you’ve a big day ahead. The worse thing is, I don’t sleep very well on nights like these. Usually, I sleep very deeply. I am not in the habit of waking up during the night, going to the loo etcetera. But when I have an important day ahead, I sleep lightly, I wake up and I even get out of bed right after the alarm sounds. Which is spectacular, since I am the Queen of the Snooze Button on a normal weekday.

All in all, these preparations aren’t exactly mind-blowing; most of us prepare themselves well for important events. My body does however surprise me at times. I sometimes find it hard to fall asleep on e.g. a Sunday night, and I wake up a few times and right before the alarm as well. While I’m wondering what’s going on, it suddenly comes to me that I may be more stressed or excited about the week ahead than I realised. I think it is great that my body tells me something I am not actually aware of, and that thanks to these symptoms I am able to understand my feelings about something. The human body and the human mind: good teamwork.

5 thoughts on “Big Day Ahead

  1. I feel the same way you do! I try my hardest to get things set up and I try to sleep early but I can’t. I never have a good nights sleep when something big is happening. Recently, I went to the salon and dyed all my hair blue. I have a volunteer gig at a local hospital as a research assistant and I was afraid my hair color would cause the hospital to kick me out as a volunteer. Surprisingly, it wasn’t a big deal in reality I received lots of compliments. Needless, to say it was at 9AM in the morning and I had not gotten a wink of sleep. I was pretty much a zombie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Big Day Ahead | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

