One-way Street: Choices

Choices. We all have to make them growing up, and after that (do we ever?) we have to make more choices. I’ve made good ones and less good ones, and some worse, but  I strongly belief that I always made the best choices considering the knowledge I had at the time.

So now we are presented with a new choice: would you want to go back in time or fast forward to the future? Thinking about this question, I realised I don’t want either. I really want to be where I am right now. I was a bit surprised by this discovery, but it feels good!

Some of the decisions I had to make were quite difficult and were only reached after elaborate listing of all the pros and cons: which studies to choose, which job positions to take, to break up or not with boyfriend (no list required in last case), etc. To know in advance how these choices will influence your future, would make them almost impossible to make. I don’t want to put myself in that position. I am happy about how it all worked out, knowing that the choices I made brought me to where I am right now.

And for the future? It may be nice to have a peek and see what my life will look like in ten or fifteen years. But missing out on all the experiences that will mould me into the person I’ll be then? No, thank you!

Inspired by today’s Daily Prompt: Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

 

Leave a Reply

