Twenty Five Seven

Today’s Daily Prompt: Good news — another hour has just been added to every 24-hour day (don’t ask us how. We have powers). How do you use those extra sixty minutes?

An extra sixty minutes, one more hour in my day. Wouldn’t that be bliss! I knew straight away I would spend it on sleeping. I usually get only seven hours of sleep every night and I’d love to make eight-hour nights during the week. I think I would be much more active and thinking faster if I did. But you know, life gets in the way, and I end up going to bed a little too late.

It sounds great, doesn’t it? This gift of an extra hour. However, I expect that you will get used to it very quickly. And you forget that you wanted that extra hour for sleeping and you use it instead for catching up on some work, doing the laundry or cleaning your house. And then you only have your seven hours of sleep, but your day will be one hour longer.

I guess, what I’m trying to say is, that no matter how many hours in a day, we will plan our days accordingly. And if you can’t manage your time in a 24 hour day, you won’t be able to do it in a 25 or 26 hour day.

To leave on a more cheerful note: it would be interesting to see how many of the daily prompt writers have chosen ‘sleeping’ to use their extra sixty minutes. Probably many of them!

2 thoughts on “Twenty Five Seven

Leave a Reply

