Reverse shot – Meeting Me

Today I met a woman. I think she was in her late thirties. She’s a little short, not too thin, dressed in jeans and a leather jacket. She had short hair, I think it’s dark brown.

We met at the hairdresser’s and started talking while waiting for the colour of our hair to sink in. It was a wonderful encounter, one that surprises you a bit. I don’t know why, but I was inspired by her.

I thought she was nice and friendly and truly interested in the people around her. We talked about life, work, family and friends. She was living an interesting life, not very extraordinary – like somebody who would travel the world to fight for human rights – but more in a way of how she put everything together. She told me her husband is working abroad, while she has a job in her home-country. They travel a lot to see each other every few weeks.

She appeared to be an independent, intelligent, kind and good-natured woman. Self-conscious about how she lives her life, making choices that enable her to maintain a career, while not neglecting her husband and friends. They seem to have a relation in which they encourage each other to be the best person they can, both in their work and to each other, their families and friends.

Although I think it’s a bit hard to live away from your husband and travelling so much to have it all, she told me it was definitely worth the effort. We had a great conversation and I think we could be friends. Next week we’re meeting again for a nice cup of coffee.


Today’s Daily Prompt: Reverse Shot – What’s your earliest memory involving another person? Recreate the scene — from the other person’s perspective.** I couldn’t think of an early memory, but was inspired by the prompt to write about what someone else would think when meeting me for the first time. It turned out to be a mixture of who I am and who I would like to be. This twist of the daily prompt ended up being an interesting exercise in thinking about how I see myself and how other people may see me. Enjoyed it!  

Leave a Reply

